top of page

Brush your teeth... with wood?


I’m sure most people don’t think twice about throwing a plastic toothbrush away. It's just one toothbrush, right? But then you do the math. The average person uses around 150 toothbrushes in their lifetime. There are roughly 326 million people in the US which means that nearly 652 million toothbrushes are placed into landfills each year. This adds up to almost 48.9 billion toothbrushes will be placed into landfills in your lifetime.

Recently I tried the Miswak plant for brushing my teeth.

Initially, I was impressed with how well it cleaned considering it’s just a stick. However, I wasn’t impressed with the flavor (which I might have been able to ignore) or the fact that the stick started molding (which I could not ignore) after just a week. I don't know if that is a common occurrence or if it was a fluke. I threw it away.

That’s when I discovered bamboo toothbrushes.

I bought a small pack for myself to try and was very impressed. I will never go back. In fact, I just recently bought more for the entire family. The bristles are soft and the handles are wide enough that once we are done with the brushes, we can re-use the handles for other things.

Bamboo Toothbrush

Bamboo Toothbrush Rainbow Bristles

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073XCZ2GW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_MHveBbY0VTB04

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

bottom of page